An institution's Site Admins can manage users' access in the User Management dashboard.
Navigating to the User Management dashboard
The Site Admin can access the dashboard through the Users tab by logging into app.smartirb.org or through the New User Request email that is sent when a new user requests access.
Getting Familiar with User Management
1. Search - You can use the search bar to search by user name, email address, or institution (if you serve as the POC for multiple institutions).
2. Filter Status - By default, the table will show users that are in a state of Confirmed or Requested, since these are the two states for which you will most often need to take action. However, you can use the Filter Status box to show all users or just users with a specific status.
3. Edit Actions - By clicking on the pencil icon, you can make changes to the user's status.
4. User Expansion - Clicking on the carat icon will expand that user row to reveal the internal comments and history log.
Understanding User Status
A user account can have the following statuses: [CONFIRM AGAINST FILTER STATUS DROP-DOWN]
• Unconfirmed: The user has requested access but has not verified their email address.
• Confirmed: The user has verified their email address and is waiting for a Site Admin to approve access.
• Active: A Site Admin has approved the user, who can now access the System.
• Deactivated: A Site Admin has deactivated the user, who can no longer access the System.
Managing Users
Approving New Users (applicants)
To approve a new user for access, the user must first be in a Confirmed state. Click the pencil icon in the far right-hand column to enable editing of the user's status. Change the state from Confirmed to Active. To save the change in status, click the green check-mark. To cancel or undo the changes, select the red X.
Resending Confirmation Emails
If a user has requested access, but either did not receive or has since lost the confirmation email, it can be resent to them. Click the carat icon next to the user in question and click the "Resend Confirmation Email" button.
Deactivating or Denying Access
To deny access to a user who has requested access, Click the pencil icon in the far right column to enable editing of the user's status. Change the state from Confirmed to Deactivated, then click the green check-mark to save the change.
The process to deactivate an active user is the same. Select the pencil icon to edit the user's status, change the status to Deactivated, and save the changes by clicking the green check-mark. You can change a deactivated user's status back to active via the same process.
Managing Site Admin accounts
Site admins are able to invite any additional Site Admins in the Reliance System. To do so, invite the user to create an account, activate the account, and revise the role from 'General User' to 'Site Admin'.
If you have any questions, please let us know at help@smartirb.org.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.